introduces the debut album Wings
Hailing from Melbourne, Australia, indie rock band Satellite Train is formed of veterans of Icehouse, James Reyne, Paul Kelly and The Black Sorrows, along with a few US friends: Michael Paytner, Susan Turner, Randy Jacobs, Shane O’Mara, Jamie Muhoberac, John Mcall, Pasquale Monea, John Watson.

The band’s music draws heavily on real-life experiences and emotions. Each song is created quickly, capturing a specific feeling or moment in time. We hope this raw authenticity resonates with listeners and creates a connection with some listeners.

Whilst the bulk of their music falls predominantly under the indie rock umbrella, elements of classical, jazz, pop and gospel music can all be found in their music, reflecting on the rich musical background of each band member.

Frontman Michael Paytner is known for being one of Australia’s most gifted singer songwriters and has supported stars such as Miley Cyrus, The Script and Seal. Michael is also a band member of popular Australian band Icehouse.

To kick start their 2024, Satellite Train have released a 10 track album titled The Melbourne Sessions, with lead single ‘Wings’.

Speaking on the release, the band explain:

“The Melbourne Sessions” album revolves around the theme of freedom, and “Wings” embodies that hopefully. Wings is about individuality, breaking free, and soaring like an eagle. It can be interpreted on different levels, Maybe on one level, giving your partner the freedom and space to be themselves instead of trying to control them.”

With uplifting chord progressions, soulful vocals and a sprinkling of gnarly guitar riffs, ‘Wings’ is sure to put a smile on the face of whoever takes a listen.

Spotify I Michael Paynter Website I Satellite Train Website I Instagram I YouTube
No events for now, please check again later.